James Shores, a master carpenter, built the Lyndon Center Queen Anne-style homestead in 1896. After the death of Mr. and Mrs. Shores it was home for their only child Venila.
The Shores Memorial Museum illustrated through its Victorian furnishings, period clothing, fine china, parlor with pump organ, and victrola, an era when life was quieter and recreation homemade.
Exhibits have featured Lyndon's musical past from late 1800's to the present, the town's railroad history, educational and industrial past. Regular tours of the museum include: elementery and secondary school classes, visiting historical societies, and other participants.
The Lyndon Legacy, an illustrated four-page newsletter brings members up to date on the society's local and statewide activies, profiles unique historical figures and prints humorous excerpts from old time Lyndon newspapers.